Vietnamese Student: Challenging but excited and worthwhile.

This week I interviewed Linh Tran. A transfer student, this is her sophomore year. With very good command of English, this little girl stands out among her peers. Before she enters Truman State University, she chose a community college in Kansas City. She did so in order to lessen her parents’ financial burden. She says:

这周我采访了越南留学生Linh Tran. 作为转学生的她今年已经大三了,超强的英语表达能力和领导能力让个子小小的她在人群中闪闪发亮。就读杜鲁门州立大学之前她选择在堪萨斯城的社区大学完成大学基本课程为父母减少负担,她说:

2.pic.jpg

“My parents are very protective so I didn’t get to go out with friends until sophomore year of high school. I like American education system. I like how they balance between book knowledge and real-life experience. I have always wanted to study abroad because I enjoy learning new languages. I’m also very interested in discovering different cultures.”

“我的父母其实把我保护的非常好,我平时都不怎么被允许和同学外出。我很喜欢美国的教育体制,我喜欢书本和实际应用的平衡,可以学以致用。我也非常享受学习新的语言,同时了解不同的文化。”

When she finished her second year at senior high school, she talked her parents into studying her last year in America. She underwent the bewilderment of “using the second language” like most students. However, with friends’ help, she quickly overcame the barriers.

所以在高中二年级结束时,她说服父母来美国就读高中的最后一年。不可避免的,她经历了大多数“第二语言”学生的困惑。但是她很快在朋友的帮助下进入了正轨。

“At first, I was still shy and didn’t dare to meet people. But I was lucky enough to meet my very first and also best American friend when I was in high school here. Her family treats me like their own child. They always make me feel welcomed and included whenever I’m around them.”

“当我刚刚来到美国的时候我非常的害羞。但是非常幸运的是我很快遇到了我最好的美国朋友。她的家人对待我就想对待自己的孩子一样。这让我一直以来在他们身边都感觉非常被包容和被接纳。”

When talking about the biggest difference between cultures, she said:

当我们谈到文化之间最大的不同时她说:

“American focus more on individualism. In Vietnam, people to people relationship earns more attention. Here everyone lives their own life and takes on responsibilities for themselves.”

“我认为美国人更注重‘个人’化。在越南,人与人之间的关系更贴近一些。在美国每个人都有他们自己的生活和自己的责任,人际关系相对简单。”

3.pic

As a leader of several students groups, Linh is grateful for the more opportunities made possible by the impetus of the cultural difference. She hoped to make more friends with friends from different countries and by doing so, find a new self.

如今,做为多个社团的领导成员,linh感谢这种文化差异带来的对动力给她更多的机会能拓展自己的能力。他希望通过和更多来自不同国家的人结交并发现更新更不同的自己。

 

 

