Japanese Student: have you find what overseas education means to you?

This week I interviewed Kanan Yamaguchi, a Japanese student who studies there. She is a freshman of 2017. As an international student, she chooses Chinese language as her foreign language option. I know her in her first semester as her Chinese peer learning tutor. As a “new” international student in American, she expresses joy, freshness and relentless learning.

这周我采访了日本留学生Kanan Yamaguchi,她是2017年秋季入学的大一新生,作为国际学生的她依然选修了中文作为外文课程的学习。我作为中文小组学习的辅导员在本学期开始认识了她。作为刚刚来到美国留学的“新”留学生,她身上贴满了喜悦,新鲜,和不断学习的标签。

1.pic

“I’ve got a lot of good experiences here. To give an example, I really enjoyed homecoming weekend, I’ve never had this kind of experience before. And I feel happy when people are nice and welcoming.”

“我有很多很好的经历在这儿。例如,我非常享受这周的返校节周末。因为在日本我从来没有过这种经历。这让我感觉非常开心因为每个人都很热情和友善。”

From talking to her, the biggest impression on me is the different approaches between Japan and USA in education. It is not exaggeration to say that children from Asia suffer a storm from their primary school to high school. They are studying to prepare for exams. After they arrive in the USA, they begin to experience a revolution in education and learning.

在我们的谈话中她感触最多的应该就是美国和日本在学习和教育方法上的不同。毫不夸张的说,来自亚洲国家的孩子,从小学到高中,每个人都经历了一场腥风血雨。这种教育方法被成作为:应试教育。来到美国后,我们之中的很多人都经历了一场教育方式和学习方法的大变革。

“Looking back at my college life in America so far, I think the biggest difference would be how a college student study. In Japan, actually, I think in all Asian countries, once you get into college, it will be easy to graduate. But here, not only exams but also you are required to work really hard on the assignment and other projects.”

“现在回头看看我的大学生活,我认为日本和美国最大的不同就是大学生的学习(方式)。在日本,实际上我认为是绝大部分亚洲国家,一旦你进入到大学,就非常好毕业。但是在美国,不仅仅是考试会让你焦头烂额,还会有很多其他的作业,演讲,和与其它同学合作的项目。”

By now half a semester has gone, Kanan sometimes feels at a loss or unable to cope with all tasks. “The hardest time was when I was being too lazy, didn’t start doing homework until the last minute and had to stay up late to finish it even though I was tired. I really felt I should do time management better.”

现在学期过半,Kanan有时会感觉有些手忙脚乱和力不从心。”最难的时候应该是我自己有时候特别懒,作业会等到最后一分钟才会想起来做。所以我需要待到很晚坚持把作业写完才能睡觉,即使有的时候我已经非常累了。我觉得我应该多在时间管理上多下些功夫。”

Talking to the newly admitted Kanan, I cannot help recalling four years ago when I first arrived here to study. The four years I have experienced all kinds of things, and keep adjusting myself to meet challenges. So have you find what overseas education means to you?

看到大一刚刚入学的Kanan我不禁想起四年前的我也是只身一人满怀期待的来到这个陌生的国家学习。四年中经历了各种五味杂陈,不断调整自己的状态,不管适应各种挑战。留学的意义,你找到了吗?

Leave a Reply

