Wooyoung Park: I encourage your stereotyping because I’ll be able to surprise you everytime.

This week I interviewed Wooyoung Park from South Korea who studying at Kirksville high school right now.

本周我采访了在科克斯维尔高中上学的韩国学生Wooyoung Park.

Wooyoung’s life experience is kind of special, she was not born in the United States but she spent most of her memory in here. “Because my dad got his Ph.D. degrees at St. Louis University. He came to work here at Truman after graduation so my mom and I are decided to move to America with him.” Wooyoung says.

Wooyoung 的成长经历比较特殊,她并非出生在美国,但是大部分的记忆都是在这里度过的。“因为我爸爸在圣路易斯大学就读博士,他毕业以后来到了杜鲁门州立大学工作,所以我和妈妈就决定跟着他一起搬来美国生活了。

1.pic

Wooyoung with her mon.

“I came to Kirksville when I was in kindergarten Before I came here, I don’t know how any English, I just knew ABCD. I still remember one time that I wanted to go to the bathroom, but I didn’t know how to say it, so you know…that was pretty uncomfortable.”

我大概是在幼儿园的时候来到这里的,但是我根本不知道怎么说英语,我唯一知道的可能就是二十六个英文字母。我还记得有次我想上厕所,但是我不知道怎么用英文跟老师表达,所以你知道吗,那感觉真的很不好。”

As she grew older, Wooyoung gradually learns and integrate into the school’s collective life “I think the only thing I can not get used to till now is the food part. Both of my parents gave to work, so I have to buy my lunch at school. But I seldom eat, it’s more satisfying to eat mom’s homemade dinner after school. (smile)” Wooyoung says.

随着年龄的增长Wooyoung渐渐的学会和融入在学校的集体生活。“我觉得我现在唯一不能适应的地方就是美国的食物的吧。 因为父母工作的原因我还是会在学校吃午饭,但我吃的很少,晚上回到家吃妈妈做的饭比较满足(笑)。”

Wooyoung is a very lively and cheerful girl. I think that’s one of the reasons why she can quickly integrate into American life. When I asked her if she had any bad experiences, she said: “They made fun of my eyes (single-fold eyelid) one time, but it was just once. Most of the time I get along well with everybody. even though in this small little town. It’s easy to get along with people. Everyone is equal.”

Wooyoung是个很开朗的小姑娘,我想这就是为什么她可以很快融入美国生活的一个原因。当我问到她有没有不好的经历时她说:“有人嘲笑过我的眼睛(单眼皮)长的很奇怪啦,不过只有那一次,大多数时间我和同学相处还是很融洽的。人与人之间的相处其实很简单的,每个人都是一样的,平等的,及时在韩国上学也会有被欺负或者被嘲笑的时候,所以不能把问题放大看。”

For the future, she has a clear direction after she graduates from high school. “I want to be a doctor. I hope I can go back to South Korea after college. Because my grandparents are still in Korea, I miss them so much.” She thought that even when she moves to American when she was young and she still lives with her parents. But homesick still cannot be cut off.

对于未来的发展,现在马上就要高中毕业的她有着很明确的方向。“我想做医生,大学毕业以后可以回到韩国,因为祖父母还在韩国,我很想他们。”她认为即使在自己很小的时候就来到了美国,父母也都陪她的在身边,但对家乡的思念依然无法割舍。我觉得这是我们每一个漂泊在美国的异乡人都有的情节。

Leave a Reply

